Swimming In My Head…

diving in the deep end…

A statement about the state of the nation…

I reluctantly watched the state of the nation last night and was actually very moved.  I was reluctant because for whatever reasons, I’ve got a complete and almost paralyzing fear of what will happen if President Obama ends up doing what most other politicians doing – making a lot of promises and not delivering.

My mistake was watching the address on the CNN/Facebook collaboration.  What I observed was interesting however.  There were obviously a lot of supporters, but there were still those disgusting jerks who had to make their hateful comments about Dems and their fellow countrymen as though they could do a better job if they were in office.

I learned something again though before I get to my favorite parts…I learned that people that project negativity do so, because they hate something in themselves.  I’m no exception…I’ve been known to harshly criticize someone or something, only to realize that I exhibit the same trait and really only hate that about myself.

So, no more listening to the assholes, defintely no support of Fox or anything Rupert Murdoch because they’re just too angry, and no more taking personally the words of people that are completely insecure with themselves.

Now, onto the highlights…

nancy-pelosiFirst, I don’t know Nancy Pelosi personally so I cannot talk about her as though I do, but I had motion sickness from all of her standing up and clapping.  Nothing wrong with showing support, but talk about giving new meaning to being a jack-in-the box.  Nancy, if you ever get the chance to read this, please wisely choose your standing points next time ok?

Some of the lines that I absolutely loved and remembered mostly because I do believe that if we all work at it, we can accomplish some very amazing things here:

“Take responsibility for our future once more”

“The most valuable skill you can sell is your knowledge”

“We cannot afford to govern out of anger or the politics of the moment”

“It’s not about helping banks, it’s about helping people”

“Dropping out of school is dropping out on your country”

“For seven years we have been a nation of war – no longer shall we hide the price”

I’m hopeful, to say the least – hopeful that we can make some great strides as a country and get over the petty in-fighting to truly be the United States of America.

Let’s see how the movie plays…

February 25, 2009 - Posted by | Life In General, Politics | , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. …and how long it lasts….

    Comment by goodbadandugly2 | February 25, 2009

  2. I couldn’t bring myself to watch it. I’m so burned out on politics lately.

    I’m also afraid that our country has passed the point of no return and that no politician, no matter how hard he/she tries, will be able to repair the damage that has been done over the last few decades. Hearing Washington drone on and on about it just makes me more depressed…

    Comment by Brian | February 25, 2009

  3. “We cannot afford to govern out of anger or the politics of the moment”
    i think we could use this in many areas of our lives both personal and in business…too many people act out of hate, anger and like you say, d, things they dislike about themselves…we are one country and should stop acting so adversarial…one day we may look back from out petty and fearful conflicts to see there’s nohing left and we’ve run out of time…

    Comment by wutupdogg | February 25, 2009

  4. Those all rang true for me, too. I actually watched the whole thing, which is a first.

    Comment by Doug | February 26, 2009

  5. First blog I read after wakeup from sleep today!

    ________________________
    Proven! How to cure Acne Naturally.Email to mike.wilson80@ymail.com for more information.

    Comment by Mike | March 4, 2009

  6. WHERE ARE YOU? GET BACK OUT HERE!

    Comment by goodbadandugly2 | March 5, 2009

  7. I second that!

    Comment by wutupdogg | March 5, 2009

  8. Where have you gone Joe Dimagio?

    Comment by sammy25 | March 13, 2009

  9. I miss you 😦

    Comment by sammy25 | March 26, 2009

  10. Miss you. Hope you’re okay.

    Comment by Brian | March 26, 2009


Leave a Reply

