Swimming In My Head…

diving in the deep end…

I Fox’d up

What’s really swimming in my head right now is what’s going on with Catholic Rev Joseph Illo and what he’s said about Catholic Obama supporters and abortion.  But truth be known, I’m growing weary of all the fighting surrounding religion and politics.  My only question is, when did it become acceptable for religious organizations to become political machines instead of beacons of light for all that is good?

…stepping off soapbox now and moving onto something far less scary but equally categorized as horror…

So, we had friends in from out of town for Thanksgiving and we decided to make Sunday a movie day because if you can believe it – in Tampa, we had a tornado watch for the day…go figure.

We rented Zohan, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, and Shutter.

Shutter is the shhhh####t.  I had heard nothing about this movie prior to visiting Blockbuster and after the urging we received from the awesome Blockbuster Videorista that suggested it, we watched it.

What a good movie!  If you haven’t seen it…definitely consider watching it…it really was good.  Call me Siskel, call me Ebert, or call me to watch it again at your house…

Oh, the title?  “I Fox’d up”…yeah about that…I realized that the movie is a Fox production and I’m kind of mad at Fox for some other reasons…so, if you’re operating under a similar Fox ban, simply wear a hat, sunglasses and dark clothing when you go out to rent it…nobody will recognize you.

December 3, 2008 - Posted by | Life In General, Movies | , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Cool. I haven’t seen Shutter yet, but I will definitely check it out.

    Btw, you look cool in those sunglasses. 😉

    Comment by Doug | December 4, 2008

  2. Doug – I’m anxious to hear what you think about the movie after you watch it…so, I’ll be looking for your review.

    And, thx.

    Comment by deek1973 | December 4, 2008

  3. I will have to see it too….isn’t Pacey from Dawson’s Creek in it? I met him once… 🙂

    Comment by goodbadandugly2 | December 4, 2008

  4. gbu2 – yes, Pacey is in it! You already know more about it than I did…You met him once? Where at? Details please…or a blog post to which I will link…

    Comment by deek1973 | December 4, 2008

  5. I think what you have here with Illo is an example of an aged institution that is crumbling and they know it. What better way to sturdy up your institution than with good old catholic guilt…and what drives catholic guilt is not getting the waffer. I think it also exemplifies why there is such a disconnect with the church and it followers. It’s just crazy talk…now I’ll get off my soap box!

    I am definately renting shutter now! What did you think of Sarah Marshall?

    Comment by sammy25 | December 4, 2008

  6. deek—ha ha my husband wouldn’t let me bother him…i saw him in Tucson…sure maybe a blog eventually…..i would have to think about that one… 🙂

    Comment by goodbadandugly2 | December 4, 2008

  7. sammy25 – sounds like you and i have a whole other blog post to write about the ‘guilt’ issue…

    Sarah Marshall was good as well…we all got a pretty good laugh out of it…but at times it seemed to drag on.

    gbu2 – i’ll be looking out for it but am quite happy with all of your other posts and will be equally waiting in anticipation for what comes next.

    Comment by deek1973 | December 4, 2008


Leave a Reply

