Swimming In My Head…

diving in the deep end…

Alabama – the decent parts…

When I wrote my sarcastic post 2 days ago about Gail McDaniel and Dan Dollar of Vernon, Alabama, I never anticipated such a big response.

For me, it was a matter of answering some absurd comments to show them for how ignorant yet hurtful they were.  I would be remiss however, if I didn’t answer the other side as well.

Although I have yet to see an article in print that highlights a feeling of entitlement or extra “right” from African-Americans, this can be considered preemptive.

I can say with conviction, that I don’t believe that Americans of any ethnicity but especially those with a similar background to President Elect Obama view his election as an excuse or “right” to suddenly “be more aggressive”.

Rather, I feel that the bar has been raised and those that previously felt that they are relegated to second class citizenship will now understand that opportunity exists for all Americans.  But it has to be worked hard for.

President Elect Obama certainly did not lazily campaign, he worked tirelessly.  It’s a good example to follow.  For those of us that have been fortunate enough to understand it, we know that although at times very difficult, we can achieve great things.

So, what I would like to say to any Alabama residents whose feelings I may have hurt is, I know that Gail McDaniel and Don Dollar are not good representatives of the intelligence, progress and people that make up Alabama.

That NYT article stirred the pot, but the reality is that there are some decidedly decent parts and decent people in Alabama and I’m using the reaction as a lesson learned.

November 13, 2008 - Posted by | Life In General | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

