Swimming In My Head…

diving in the deep end…

Hatchet

Alright – so I said I was done with horror flicks for the month…
Couldn’t resist watching Hatchet by Adam Green last night.  It’s gory, but you have to watch it.  At times, the script is just funny and at other times the suspense is really intense.

If you like the feeling you used to get when you watched the old school horror flicks, you’ll definitely like this one.  Plus, if you read the interview with Adam Green about his logic and theory behind the movie, it makes it all kind of worth it.

For my Florida peeps…Victor Crowley (the villain), kind of reminded me of R. Storms (FL Senate) in terms of fright factor…

November 3, 2008 - Posted by | Movies | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. The trouble with most horror films and fiction is that the creators forget that fear is a CEREBRAL emotion–blood and gore usually ladled on in a crude attempt to disguise a total lack of imagination and originality. The scariest films of all time feature very little real blood and violence is often suggested or off-screen. Next year the producers of the “Saw” films (Twisted Pictures) will be releasing an adaptation of my short novel KEPT and I dearly hope some vestige of my original vision will be retained, the ugliness and brutality downplayed. Hope this isn’t wishful thinking on my part…

    Comment by Cliff Burns | November 3, 2008

  2. Cliff, thank you for your comment. I would agree that the cerebral element is missing in many cases. I would also agree that the movies that have scared me the most were usually not gory…as I’m not really a fan of gore.

    As a matter of fact, most of my friends tease me because I still claim that “The Blair Witch Project” has moments that scare me. Mostly the last scene where the guy is facing the wall.

    You’ve certainly got my attention with “KEPT” and I’m going to download some of your novels from your site because now I can’t wait to read them.

    I too, hope that some or most of your original vision is maintained because contrary to popular belief, there are still quite a few of us out there that love the “heady” stuff that’s lacking in film today.

    Keep in mind that there are a lot of lazy people who view going to the movies as entertainment in the simplest of terms. Meaning…they want it all handed to them instead of thinking about it.

    I on the other hand am completely intrigued and can’t wait to see what else you come out with. You’ve gained a new fan.

    Comment by deek1973 | November 3, 2008


Leave a Reply

