Swimming In My Head…

diving in the deep end…

Disturbing…

So many of our friends have already seen The Strangers.  We officially joined the ‘seen-the-strangers’ ranks last night.

So, if you haven’t seen the movie and you’re planning on watching it, I would NOT suggest reading any further so your experience isn’t ruined.

We had 7 people in the house, all the lights off, and kick-ass surround sound which definitely added to the imagery, if you will.  Definitely some good scares.  It was actually kind of funny because the scarier a scene got, the more all of us would yell at the screen about what people needed to do.

Anytime a movie is based on “true events” however, I find it irresistible to understand the circumstances behind the true event.  Thus started my quest for the “true events” this movie was based on.  What I found out was kind of disappointing.

***NOTE – The links contained in the next paragraph may be offensive to some due to their graphic discussion about Charles Manson and his criminal activity.

Some say that it was based on an experience that Bryan Bertino (Director) had himself but where nobody was actually hurt and others say it was based on Helter Skelter (The Manson murders).  Either way, definitely a movie worth watching and you can draw your own conclusions about its basis.

In my search however, I did stumble across a similar event that is the real deal, unsolved, scary story that happened in Northern California – 1981.  The Keddie Murders – this is a disturbing story and according to the ‘official’ website, they still haven’t found the suspects behind the gruesome assaults.

I have to tell you that I’ve certainly had my fill of horror and unsolved murder mysteries for the month…I’m going downstairs to see if The Flintstones are on.

November 2, 2008 Posted by | Movies | , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments