Swimming In My Head…

diving in the deep end…

Old

Ok…I knew I was old (35), but now I really know.  It’s 9:30 a.m. and I can’t focus, have bags under my eyes, the three hairs I have on my head are dissheveled, I’m bloated, I have a headache, and my stomach is making tiny weeping noises.

I did the unthinkable last night and had 4 drinks instead of my normal limit of 2 and it really, really hurts.

What happened to the days a mere 10 years ago when I probably could’ve had 8 drinks and ran a mile or two this morning?  I think I left them back in Philadelphia along with my six pack, full head of hair and my metabolism.

I’m just asking who is up in the sky looking down at us after we all turn 30 and laughing their ass off as we try to act the way we feel inside our head but can’t pull it off because the body has a whole other Republican agenda.  Sorry, had to slip that in there.

Good Morning everybody!

November 1, 2008 - Posted by | Life In General | , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Ha! Can’t help but laugh WITH you on this, because I’ll be turning 35 next year and I know exactly how you feel. I keep telling myself that 34 is still young, but I feel older than the hills when 10 o’clock rolls around.

    Getting old sucks so bad, but I guess the alternative blows pretty hard too.

    Comment by Brian | November 1, 2008

  2. Brian, I’m glad we’re laughing together ’bout this one. We’ll be sure to celebrate your 35th with you even if remotely.

    I should warn you that if you’re feeling older than the hills at 10 p.m. at 34, wait until 35 when that internal clock rolls back to about 8:30 p.m. and sometimes 9:00 p.m. if you took your Ginseng.

    You are right about the other alternative though…

    Comment by deek1973 | November 2, 2008

  3. deek, you are NOT old…to quote a hallmark card i read once “age is only a number”…so wise and sage that hallmark crew is. you are one of the funniest most entertaining people i have ever met. you’re funny, not old…46 is old. wait, whose age is that?

    Comment by wutupdogg | November 2, 2008

  4. LL – Thank you for not thinking I’m old. My body is arguing with you right now, but my mind is saying “right on”. That Hallmark crew is pretty wise…nothing but a number huh?

    46 is not old either but since I’m certain that you weren’t referring to anybody’s age that we know, 46 is merely the ultimate answer to the ultimate question – 4 years later…

    Comment by deek1973 | November 3, 2008


Leave a Reply

