Swimming In My Head…

diving in the deep end…

Could it be a message?

I don’t know, seems like some of this stuff just fits right now.

10) The Logical Song – Supertramp – “Now watch what you say or they’ll be calling you a radical.  Liberal, fanatical, criminal.”

09) Invincible – Pat Benatar – “This shattered dream you cannot justify.  We’re gonna scream until we’re satisfied.  What are we running for?  We’ve got the right to be angry.  What are we running for?  When there’s nowhere we can run to anymore.”

08) Lost! – Coldplay – “You might be a big fish in a little pond.  Doesn’t mean you’ve won.  ‘Cause along may come a bigger one.  And you’ll be lost.”

07) Velvet Rope – Janet Jackson – “We have a special need.  To feel that we belong…This special need.  That’s within us.  Brings out the best yet worst in us…Put others down to feel us up.  Oppressing me will oppress you.  Outside leave judgment, outside leave hate.  One love’s the answer, you’ll find in you.”

06) How Soon Is Now – The Smiths – “You shut your mouth.  How can you say, I go about things the wrong way?  I am human and I need to be loved, just like everybody else does.”

05) People Are People – Depeche Mode – “So we’re different colors, and we’re different creeds.  And different people have different needs.  It’s obvious you hate me though I’ve done nothing wrong.  I’ve never even met you so what could I have done?  I can’t understand what makes a man, hate another man – help me understand.  People are people so why should it be, you and I should get along so awfully?”

04) Colors of the Wind – Vanessa Williams – “You think the only people who are people.  Are the people who look and think like you.  But if you walk the footsteps of a stranger, you’ll learn things you never knew, you never knew.”

03) New Power Generation – Prince – “Pardon me for living, but this is my world too.  I can’t help it what’s cool to us, might be strange to you.  Pardon me for breathing, can we borrow some of your air?  The problem with you and your kind is you don’t know love is there…Pardon me for thinking, but there’s something under my hair.  I bet you thought the lights were on, but no one’s living there.  You think that if you tell enough lies, they will see the truth.  I hope they bury your old ideas, the same time they bury you.”

02) Freedom – Robert Miles – “Free – everyone is free.  In the new day that’s coming, freedom for all is our destiny…Freedom from shame.  Freedom from fear.  Freedom to live.  It’s your right to be here.”

Drumroll please…………..

Tied for number 1 is:

01) Breathe – Two of Cups – “We tend to forget, we’re all the same.  We all have joy, we all have pain.  But if we would remember, how beautiful it would be.  If we breathe.”

01) Waiting on the World To Change – John Mayer – “Now we see everything that’s going wrong with the world and those who lead it.  We just feel like we don’t have the means, to rise above and beat it.  So we keep waiting for the world to change…Now if we had the power to bring our neighbors home from war, they would never have missed a Christmas.  No more ribbons on their door.  And when you trust your television, what you get is what you got.  ‘Cause when they own the information, they can bend it all they want.  That’s why we’re waiting on the world to change.”

Now discuss…

October 28, 2008 - Posted by | Music, Politics | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Now that I have the majority of these songs stuck in my head… I like the way you think. My mantra has always been Godsmack’s Whatever: ” I’m doing the best I ever did. I’m doing the best I can. Now go away.” Your way of thinking is much nicer though. Kudos!

    Comment by Al | October 28, 2008

  2. Al – You sure you don’t want me to add that to the list? It’s a pretty clear message too…
    Thanks for the message! Miss you kiddo!

    Comment by deek1973 | October 28, 2008

  3. Wow! What a great list. I especially like the final two. 🙂

    These lyrics are from my song of the moment… Jennifer Hudson – We Gon’ Fight:

    I’m gon fight for you
    You gon fight for me
    I’m gon fight for you
    And that’s how it’s gon be
    We gon fight

    Fight because we should
    On everything that’s good
    I can’t leave
    We’ve come too far to turn back

    And to the haters that we shook
    Giving us dirty looks
    Watch and see
    No matter what goes
    No matter what stays
    Ain’t gon let nobody tear us down
    We’re going all twelve rounds

    Let’s put ’em up
    No giving up
    We gon make it just because
    We gon fight for love

    Just one more week of fighting for what’s right and then maybe we’ll be able to enter a brand new & beautiful era in America!

    Comment by Brian | October 28, 2008

  4. Brian – those lyrics are amazing! It gives me chills to consider the circumstances both surrounding her personal life and what’s going on with the country.

    Comment by deek1973 | October 29, 2008

  5. Have you heard the song yet? It’s the best song on the album!

    Comment by Brian | October 29, 2008

  6. P.S. – Check your email. 😉

    Comment by Brian | October 29, 2008


Leave a Reply

